2018 Florida First Time Home Buyer Grant Programs!

Updated 12-1-2017

Programs & Grants for First Time Home Buyers that allow you to receive either grants of between $5000 to $15,000 or a 0%-zero-percent interest 2nd mortgage loan to purchase a home.

Below are some of the very best Florida First Time Home Buyer programs. Some of these programs don't have requirements for First Time Home Buyers. However some of the programs do require that you haven't owned a Principle Residence for the past 3 years. Typically, all these programs are called First Time Home Buyer Programs. 

This website is brought to you by Mid Florida Realty. 

To be Pre-Qualified or discuss the individual programs for Hillsborough, Pinellas, Pasco, Lake, Polk, Orange, Osceola, Hernando, Seminole, Volusia, Duval, Clay, St Johns, Nassau or Putnam Counties please apply below or call 863-800-1011

For All other Florida Counties including Miami-Dade, Palm Beach, Broward or not specifically listed below please call 863-229-0125.


Simple & Free! Click Here TO BE PRE-APPROVED

Did you know you can purchase a Florida home with as little as $2500 down?
- $1500 Earnest money deposit
- $400 Professional home inspection
- $450 Lender's appraisal

2017 INCOME LIMITS & ACQUISITION LIMITS

2018 NON-HHF Conventional Income and Purchase Limits
2018 HHF Conventional Income and Purchase Limits
2018 NON-HHF - FHA Income and Purchase Limits
2018 HHF FHA Income and Purchase Limits
2018 Pinellas - Pasco - Polk Income and Purchase Limits
2018 Own A Home Opportunity Grant Income Limits
2018 Sapphire Income Limits
2018 MCC Purchase Price Limits
2018 MCC Income Limits

Currently serving the following counties with telephone support:

 Hillsborough, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Lake, Charlotte, Sarasota, Orange, Clay, Manatee, Hernando, Putnam, St Johns, Osceola, Duval, Flagler, Nassau, Volusia Counties, Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach Counties. 

2018 Conventional Preferred Plus Down Payment Assistance

House 2 Home / Sapphire FHA Down Payment Assistance 

for ALL Florida Counties

  • Provides up to 4.5% in down payment assistance in ALL Florida Counties for FHA Loans
  • Down Payment Assistance is forgiven at the Closing table. 
  • Buyer does not need to be first time Home Buyer.
  • Must be primary residence, no Investors.
  • 30 year fixed term.
  • Competitive mortgage Interest rates.
  • Can be used with VA Mortgages (4.5%), FHA Mortgages (4.5%) and USDA Mortgages (3%)
  • Borrower must have at least 1 active trade lines.
  • Supplemental Alternative credit allowed .
  • Maximum Income Limits set at 115% of Florida County the house is located.
  • Maximum purchase price of FHA limits in area purchased. Generally the lesser of $417,000 (not including MI) or maximum loan amounts permitted by HUD
  • Lender credit available not available.
  • Minimum middle FICO credit score is 620.
  • Maximum debt-to-income 47%
  • No Prepayment Penalty Fee if loan is paid out early.
  • No cash back to Borrower/Buyer
  • Seller can tribute up to 6% towards Buyers Closing Costs.
  • No 203k Renovation loans allowed.

2018 FHA - (HFA) Housing Finance Authority Home Sweet Home Down Payment Assistance program for Hillsborough, Pinellas, Duval, Clay and Miami-Dade counties. 

2018 FHA Manatee County Florida Key Ownership Program Homebuyer Down Payment Assistance Bond Program

2018 FHA - Housing Finance Authority Home Key Down Payment Assistance program for First Time Home Buyers - 

Pinellas County - Pasco County - Polk County 

2018 Florida FHA State Bond Preferred Down Payment Assistance Program for All Florida Counties including Orange County, Osceola County, Lake County, Hernando County, Putnam County and Nassau County.

  • 30-year, fixed-rate first mortgage loans originated by trained and approved lenders throughout the State of Florida. The program is offered to all borrowers who meet income, purchase price and other program guidelines, and can otherwise qualify for a loan. Borrowers who qualify for this first mortgage program are automatically qualified for one of Florida Housing's down payment assistance programs.
  • First Time Home Buyer hasn't owned a property for at least 3 years.
  • Down Payment Assistance comes in the form of a $7,500 0% interest 2nd mortgage loan. The down payment assistance can be used (http://floridadownpaymentassistance.com/) for the down payment, Buyers mortgage closing costs, or split pay mortgage insurance premium to lower mortgage insurance cost.
  • Must be primary residence.
  • Credit score 640 minimum for 95% LTV or less - Maximum LTV 104.99% CLTV
  • No cash back at closing, any excess funds will be used as principle reduction.
  • 1 unit only - Single Family Residence, Townhouses with 95% LTV or below. No Manufactured Homes.
  • Only Applicant income from 1003 used for qualification purposes.
  • 44.9% debt to income ratio or less.
  • Lower mortgage insurance rates for Borrower on FHA program.
  • Allows up to 3% Seller contribution maximum towards Buyers closing costs.
  • Purchase only No Construction to Perm loans, no investment purchases, no refi's.
  • Purchase price limits determined by 140% of HUD county median income limits. See 2018 Income limits hyperlink above for "2018 Conventional Excludes HHF Counties".
  • Owner Occupants only, must occupy within 60 days.
  • 2 hour Buyer Mortgage Insurance education required or any 6-8 hour HUD approved agency (online or in-person) or approved mortgage insurance education class from MGIC or Genworth
  • Florida e-housing fee's $225 compliance fee + $300 US Bank funding fee + $85 tax service fee calculated minus the $7,500 down payment assistance.
  • No Intangibles tax on HUD or Closing Disclosure.
  • FHA guidelines apply to this product.This is not a Conventional loan product.
  • Co-Signors not permitted
  • Lender Credit not available.
  • This program can be used anywhere in the State of Florida.
  • The FL Assist offers a 30 year, 0% fixed rate, deferred but accelerated upon any of the following - the sale, transfer or other disposition of the property (including involuntary transfer by or as a result of foreclosure or judicial sale or operation of law), The FL Assist must be repaid.

2018 OWN A HOME OPPORTUNITY

               (Broward, Lee, Sarasota, Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, St Johns & 
                                    Palm Beach Counties only) 
  • 30-year, fixed-rate FHA first mortgage loans originated by trained and approved lenders throughout the State of Florida. The program is offered to all borrowers who meet income, purchase price and other program guidelines, and can otherwise qualify for a loan.
  • Maximum Purchase price: 
  • Charlotte County = $ 253,809
  • Collier County = $415,058
  • Broward County = $ 317,646
  • Desoto County = $ 253,809
  • Lee County = $ 253,809
  • Palm Beach County = $ 317,646
  • Sarasota County = $ 264,706
  • St Johns County = $ 303,882
  • Volusia County = $ 253,809
  • The assistance comes in the form of a 3%, 4% or 5% Grant at Closing. Amount is dependent on credit scores.
  • Freddie Mac Advantage Conventional mortgage loans, FHA mortgage loans, USDA mortgage loans & VA mortgage loans
  • Maximum Household Income: 
  • Charlotte County $ 88,500
  • Collier County = $ 104,550
  • Broward County = $ 96,150
  • Desoto County = $ 88,500 
  • Lee County = $ 88,500
  • Palm Beach County= $101,850
  • Sarasota County = $ 98,250
  • St Johns County = $ 96,600
  • Volusia County = $ 88,500
  • No First Time Home Buyer restriction.
  • No Work Visa, student visa, any temporary visa's qualify
  • Do NOT have to pay Intangible Tax or Documentation Stamps (savings of approximately .05% of loan amount)
  • Minimum Funds directly from Buyer of $1000.00 to Close on Home
  • Minimum 640 FICO credit score on FHA, VA, USDA to qualify for 4% grant, 660 FICO to qualify for 5% grant at Closing table.
  • ALL bank deposits OUTSIDE of payroll require detailed explanations.
  • 44.9% Debt to Income ratio or less
  • Low fixed mortgage interest rates
  • Can purchase new or resale homes
  • No 8 hour HUD approved Mortgage Counseling course required.
  • No Bankruptcies in last 2 years and no foreclosure last 3 years.
  • Primary Residences only, Single Family Residences and Fee Simple Town homes only, no manufactured or mobile homes allowed.
  • No Prepayment Penalty Fee if loan is paid out early
  • While there is no cash back in this program, the borrower may be reimbursed for any over payment of escrow to the extent permitted by Agency (FHA, VA) guidelines. 
  • Pay stubs and W-2's required.
  • No possibility of Recapture Tax.
  • Credit restrictions: No Manual Underwrites, 3 trade lines with no lates in last 12 months, No NSF's in last 6 months, Non-traditional credit not allowed.
  • Cosigners Permitted for FHA loans under very specific conditions. Follow FHA guidelines for credit purposes only. Treat cosigner credit/income as directed by FHA. Cosigners are allowable in an FHA transaction when meeting the following conditions (1) a cosigner cannot have any ownership interest in the property (they cannot be on the Mortgage/Deed) and (2) the cosigner cannot reside in the property being purchased. A cosigner’s income is not considered for program purposes, tax returns/transcripts are not required and cosigners do not sign any program documents.
  • Income must be supported by paystubs and 2 year history of continuous employment.
  • No second mortgages remain.
  • Refinances: Not permitted.
  • Lender credit not available.
  • Appraisal must indicate that the home has at least a 30 year remaining useful life.
  • No Prepayment Penalties.

USDA / Rural Development Loans

  • Provides up to 102% financing in participating Florida Counties
  • Buyer does not need to be 1st time Home Buyer.
  • Borrower must have three active trade lines, no alternative credit.
  • Higher Income Limits than typical state or county programs.
  • Maximum purchase price of FHA limits in area purchased. 
  • Lender credit available.
  • No Prepayment Penalty Fee if loan is paid out early.
  • Seller can tribute up to 6% towards Buyers Closing Costs.

VA Loans

  • No down payment as long as the sales price doesn't exceed the appraised value.
  • No First Time Homeowner required.
  • Can be combined with Florida Bond program.
  • No private mortgage insurance premium requirement.
  • VA rules limit the amount you can be charged for closing costs.
  • Closing costs may be paid by the seller.
  • No Prepayment Penalty Fee if loan is paid out early
  • Lender credit not available.
  • VA may be able to provide you some assistance if you run into difficulty making payments
  • You can reuse the benefit.
  • VA-backed loans are assumable, as long as the person assuming the loan qualifies.
  • Must have Certificate of Eligibility
  • Primary Residences only

Federal Home Loan Bank Down Payment Assistance Grant

  • Provides 4:1 matching funds up to $5,000 for Borrowers not involved in the occupations below
  • Provides 4:1 matching funds up to $7,500 for those involved in Public Safety, Medical, or Education
  • Buyer must be First Time Homebuyer or hasn't owned a home in 3 years
  • Primary Residences only.
  • Lender credit available..
  • Maximum purchase price not to exceed the FHA limits in the counties being considered
  • Income must be at or under 80% of the HUD Median Income
  • 1 hour Mortgage Counseling conversation required
  • No Bankruptcies in last 2 years and no foreclosure last 3 years
  • Minimum middle credit score 620
  • Maybe combined with VA Loans written by same Lender
  • No Prepayment Penalty Fee if loan is paid out early

Freedom First Closing Cost Assistance program for NO FICO CREDIT or LOW FICO Score Buyers

  • 30-year, fixed-rate FHA first mortgage loans originated by trained and approved lenders throughout the State of Florida. The program is offered to all borrowers who purchase price and other program guidelines, and can otherwise qualify for a loan. 
  • No income limits.
  • No FICO credit scores but alternative credit such as rental history, cell phone statements, utility statements etc...
  • No first time home buyer requirement.
  • up to 2% of the loan amount is in the form of a Lender credit that does not require repayment by the borrower. (http://floridadownpaymentassistance.com/) This can ONLY be used for Closing Costs, NOT the down payment.
  • This program allows for higher borrower income limits without credit scores.
  • This program can be used anywhere in the State of Florida.
  • Ratio's = 33% frontend and 43% backend with 3.5 % down payment due from Buyer in the form of the Earnest Money Deposit, the appraisal fee and the rest of the 3.5% at Closing.
  • No cash back at closing, 
  • 1 unit only - Single Family Residence, Townhomes & Condos with 96.5% LTV or below.
  • No household income limitation- Only Applicant(s) income for qualification purposes.
  • Seller contribution 6% maximum towards Buyers closing costs.
  • Purchase only, no construction to permanent loans - no investment properties.
  • Purchase price limits determined by FHA guidelines only
  • Owner Occupants only-No Investors.
  • 2 hour Buyer education required or any HUD approved agency (online or in-person) or approved 1 hour mortgage insurance education class from MGIC or Genworth
  • FHA Guidelines.
  • Co-Signors permitted.

Simple & Free! Click Here to be Pre-Approved

Many of these programs are available throughout the entire state of Florida. This website is sponsored by Mid Florida Realty 813-777-8056.

NOTICE: This is not a commitment to lend or extend credit. Restrictions may apply. Information and/or data is subject to change without notice. All loans are subject to credit approval. Not all loans or products are available in all states/counties.This website has no affiliation with the State of Florida.